Every year, the President of Augusta University recognizes an individual or group that has made the largest impact on the institution. The President’s Award is the highest award given by the university to its friends and supporters and is reflective of the recipients’ impact on Augusta University.

President's Award

President's Award Recipients

The names of the President’s Award recipients and the years are as follows:

2022 – Kevin and Brittany Kisner

2021 – Emily Baumann

2020 – Our AU Heroes

2019 – Dr. Roy Witherington

2018 – Dr. Virendra B. Mahesh

2017 – Eugene and Lucille Fleischer

2016 – M. Bert Storey


The SPIRIT Award stands for Stewardship, Prevention, Integrity, Responsibility, Inspiration, and Trust. This award recognizes an employee who represents these guiding principles, embraces the values of Augusta University and inspires the trust of others. Individuals who consistently set the ethical bar high in managing state resources, daily decision making and in the delivery of their work are deserving of this award.

Carefully Managing State Resources

Raising Awareness  

Building a Culture of Ethical Behavior

Upholding Our Duty to Report  

Leading by Example

Preserving Public Confidence

Make a Nomination

Fatima Desamito holding her spirit award

SPIRIT Award Recipients

2022 - Amy Pizio-Moore, Research Operations Coordinator, Georgia Cancer Center, Augusta University

2021 - Fatima Desamito, LPN, Women's Health, AU Health

2020 – Whitney Dixon, RN, Shock Trauma ICU, AU Health

2019 – Janice Ethridge, 3rd party Insurance Claims Specialist, Dental College of Georgia, Augusta University

2018 – Sandi Loy, Director of Contracts & Fiscal Services, Georgia Correctional Healthcare at Augusta University

2017 – Ms. Jennifer Young, Manager Pathology Services, Anatomic Pathology, AU Health

2016 – Farlyn Hudson, Research Associate, Vascular Biology Center, Augusta University