The Mission

The AU Academy of Health Sciences Educators (The Academy) is an organization of distinguished health sciences educators who have demonstrated sustained excellence in educational activities and scholarship within and beyond Augusta University. 

The Academy’s mission is:

  • To recognize faculty who have made outstanding contributions to health sciences education.
  • To establish a forum for faculty with recognized accomplishments in health sciences education to facilitate the exchange of ideas, career development, and collaboration institution-wide.
  • To improve the quality of health sciences education by fostering faculty development, curricular innovation, creating products that will advance the fields, and developing educational leaders for the future.

Membership in The Academy is open faculty with a health sciences college appointment at Augusta University.  For more information, please refer to Frequently Asked Questions or contact us. 


Application Information

Click here to find out more about the Academy and how to apply!


The Academy Frequently Asked Questions


A list and biographies of all the current and past Academy members

2017 Academy Inductees

William "Bill" Andrews, MA, CMI, FAMI

Bill Andrews

Bill Pearson, PhD

Bill Pearson

Eric Zevallos, MD 

Eric Zevallos


Past Induction Ceremony Photos


Academy 20152015 Induction Ceremony for Academy of Health Science Educators
Left to right - Ralph Gillies, Gerald Crites (2015), Annette Bourgault (2015), Lori Bolgla, Judith Stallings (2015), Marguerite Murphy, Stephanie Wright (2015), Matt Lyons, Janet Munroe (2015), Rick Callan.  Not pictured Julie Zadinsky (2015).


2012 Induction2012 Induction Ceremony for Academy of Health Sciences Educators
Left to right - Rosalind Jones, Lori Schumacher Anderson, Barbara Russell, Marguerite Murphy, Gayle Bentley, Vincent Robinson, Malorie Novak, Matthew Lyon, Laura Mulloy, Doug Keskula, Lynn Jaffe, Anna Edmondson, Shilpa Brown, Mariana D'Amico, Christy Berding, Lori Bolgla, Mary Ellen Quinn, Mohammed Elsalanty, Kevin Plummer, Richard Callan


2011 Induction2011 Induction Ceremony for Academy of Health Sciences Educators
Left to right - Janis Coffin, T. Andrew Albritton, Janet P. Hafler (Invited speaker from Yale School of Medicine), Jack Borders, Dale Sickles


2010 Induction2010 Induction Ceremony for Academy of Health Sciences Educators 
Left to right - Diane Turnbull, Robert Nesbit, Renuka Mehta, Donna Londino, Rhee Fincher, Chris White, Teresa Colema