To provide oversight, insight, and direction for commencement ceremonies at Augusta University, and support for faculty and staff who operationalize decisions by the committee and any subcommittees.

Charge: The committee is tasked with making decisions regarding commencement ceremonies, including the location of the event, run of show, speakers (suggestion to the President for keynote), etc.


Neil MacKinnion


Neil MacKinnon
Susan Davies

Membership Roster

Members Role Constituency Representing Term
Peter Basciano Member Faculty Affairs Staff July 2020 - June 2022
Protocol and Special Events,
Tammy Berry
Member Special Events Staff Ongoing
Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs ,
Kathy Browder
Member Faculty Affairs Staff Ongoing
Vice President Enrollment & Student Affairs,
Susan Davies
Committee Co-Chair Student Affairs Staff Ongoing
Dale Hartenburg Member Campus Services Staff July 2020 - June 2022
Associate Vice President Alumni Engagement and Annual Giving,
Scott Henson
Member Alumni Relations Staff Ongoing
Mahadia Islam Member Student Government Affairs Student July 2020 - June 2022
Executive Vice President of Administration & Chief of Staff to the President,
Russell Keen
Member President's Office Staff Ongoing
Vice Provost for Instruction,
Zach Kelehear
Member Instruction and Innovation Staff Ongoing
Neil MacKinnon
Committee Co-Chair Academic Affairs Staff Ongoing
Heather Metress
Member Registrar's Office Staff Ongoing
Associate Vice President for External Relations, Protocol and Special Events,
Suzanne Tatum
Member Special Events Staff Ongoing
Samuel Walton Member GSGA Representative Student August 2021 - June 2022