The Institutional Chemical Safety Committee (ICC) ensures that Augusta University (AU) chemical use conforms to the guidelines and regulations associated with handling of all chemicals and carcinogens especially those that are considered toxic or hazardous. This policy provides assurance that chemical-use activities at AU do not present unacceptable risks to the health or safety of faculty, staff, students, patients, visitors, or the general public or the environment.

The responsibilities of the ICC include to:
1) Review and approve all chemical safety protocols for research proposed in intramural and extramural grant applications for animal and non-human use of all chemicals and carcinogens,
2)Advise and assist with the implementation of programs related to chemical hazards,
3)Assist in developing policies and procedures related to personnel safety, safe equipment use and operations including educational programs designated to promote safety awareness and safe practices, and
4)Minimize liability to the institution resulting from use, storage or disposal of hazardous chemicals on campus.

Charge: Procedures:
*The ICC reviews and approves guidelines describing standard procedures for the use, storage and disposal of hazardous chemicals. Changes in guidelines, procedures and policies must receive ICC approval prior to implementation.
*The ICC discusses incidents, accidents or events related to improper use, storage or disposal of chemicals on campus and recommends corrective actions when necessary.
*On issues requiring a vote, a quorum shall be required consisting of a majority of the ICC membership. The chairperson votes in case of ties.
*Minutes and other recordings are maintained by the Environmental Health and Safety Division and are available to ICC members.
*Meetings of the ICC will be called by the chairperson at any time to consider: a request by any AU Principal Investigator (PI), Faculty member, or person of similar responsible position, for permission to possess and use highly toxic and hazardous chemicals; as may be required by statutory or mandated regulations; to consider changes in policies and practices of the ICC; or for any other matter within the scope of the committee. All activities of the ICC will be recorded in meeting minutes and provided to ICC members for approval at the next ICC meeting.
*Those requesting the use of hazardous chemicals must submit a signed “Application for the Use of Chemicals in Laboratories” for approval before research is initiated. The forms are available on the GRU Chemical Safety Office (CSO) website.
*The committee reviews the application within two weeks and notifies the PI of approval/disapproval in a timely manner. In those projects involving administration of hazardous chemicals to animals, the Chemical Safety Officer confirms that appropriate Institutional Animal Care and Use (IACUC) protocols have been implemented prior to approval of such chemical use. For the non-human use of hazardous chemicals, the PI is then notified of its approval or disapproval.
*Special meetings or virtual consultations of the ICC will be held to consider an appeal from a PI or person of a similar responsible position in matters where the committee has denied approval for his/her work with hazardous chemicals or any other matter that needs immediate attention or action by the committee.
*The ICC develops systematic procedures to assure that all activities that take place on the GRU campuses related to chemical use are identified and properly reviewed, irrespective of funding sources.
*The ICC reviews inspection reports by regulatory agencies, and institutional program documents (e.g., Chemical Safety Guide, Environmental Management System Manual) that are related to its area of concern to ensure that these documents are updated and that the institution maintains required compliance.

Membership type for each member (Chair, secretary, alternate, etc.)
The ICC members and its Chairperson are appointed by the Senior Vice President for Research for a term of 2 years. The committee meets as required but no less than once every 3 months on dates established by the Chemical Safety Office and the ICC Chairperson. Committee membership includes at a minimum the chairperson, vice chairperson, one representative each from the Colleges of Medicine, Graduate Studies, Dental Medicine, Allied Health Sciences and Nursing, and the Summerville Campus Chemistry Department The members must have a scholastic background in chemistry and relevant years of experience in the use of chemicals and chemical safety regulations at AU. The candidacy of all new ICC members is discussed at ICC meetings and objections to appointment can be made by anyone in attendance. Final recommendations for ICC appointment by the Senior Vice President for Research require approval of the ICC Chairperson, the Chemical Safety Officer and the Associate Vice President of Environmental Health and Safety.


SVP Research


John Johnson

Membership Roster

Members Role Constituency Representing Term
CON Physiological & Technological Nursing ,
Shannon Broxton
Member Faculty July 2021 - June 2022
Dep’t Oral Biology & Diagnostic Sciences,
Marion Cooley
Member Faculty July 2021 - June 2022
Dep’t Chemistry and Physics, Summerville Campus,
Thomas Crute
Member Faculty July 2021 - June 2022
Dep’t of Neuroscience & Regenerative Medicine,
Quansheng Du
Member Faculty July 2021 - June 2022
EHS/Chemical Safety Programs,
Kenneth Erondu
Member Chief Security Officer Administrative July 2021 - June 2022
Department of Physiology ,
Jessica Filosa
Member Faculty July 2021 - June 2022
Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology,
John Johnson
Committee Chair Faculty July 2021 - June 2022
Department of Pathology ,
Kimya Jones
Member Faculty July 2021 - June 2022
Department of Cellular Biology & Anatomy ,
Ellen LeMosy
Member Faculty July 2021 - June 2022
Environmental Health & Safety/Chemical Safety ,
Sammy Navarre
Member Staff July 2021 - June 2022
Clinical Veterinarian,
Andrea Saucedo
Member Staff July 2021 - June 2022
Department of Medicine: Cardiology,
Yao Liang Tang
Member Faculty July 2021 - June 2022
Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology ,
Muthusamy Thangaraju
Member Faculty July 2021 - June 2022
AVP Environmental Health & Safety Division ,
Philip Young
Member Faculty July 2021 - June 2022